Formula 1 unveil provisional 2021 calendar

Formula 1 have unveiled a provisional calendar for the 2021 season, and Melbourne is set to host the Australian Grand Prix on Sunday, March 21st.

The 2021 season will be the biggest in the competition’s history, with 23 races scheduled over the calendar year.

“We are excited to announce our 2021 provisional calendar and delighted we will be starting our season with our long-term partners in Melbourne,” Formula 1 chief executive Chase Carey said in a statement.

“Andrew Westacott and his team do an incredible job and we know the season opener at Albert Park will be one that fans can safely enjoy after an unprecedented 2020.

“We are planning for 2021 events with fans that provide an experience close to normal and expect our agreements to be honoured.

“We have proven that we can safely travel and operate our races and our promoters increasingly recognise the need to move forward and manage the virus.”

Watch the 2020 FIA Formula One World Championship™ on KAYO. Every practice, qualifying session and race LIVE. New to Kayo? Get your free trial now & start streaming instantly >

Australian Grand Prix Corporation chief executive Andrew Westacott was adamant the event would abide by coronavirus protocols.

“We’re thrilled that the 2021 FIA Formula 1 world championship will commence at its traditional home here in Melbourne,” Westacott said.

“We continue to work closely with health authorities and the Victorian Government as we develop our plans for fan attendance, which will be announced when finalised.

“We’re adopting a sensible, adaptable and flexible approach, ensuring that a safe environment for fans and participants is our top priority.

“Our massive parkland venue with 10.6 km of track frontage provides us with the perfect opportunity to create a COVID-safe venue.”

Daniel Ricciardo of Australia.Source:Getty Images


March 21 – Australia (Melbourne)

March 28 – Bahrain (Sakhir)

April 11 – China (Shanghai)

April 25 – TBC (TBC)

May 9 – Spain (Barcelona)*

May 23 – Monaco (Monaco)

June 6 – Azerbaijan (Baku)

June 13 – Canada (Montreal)

June 27 – France (Le Castellet)

July 4 – Austria (Spielberg)

July 18 – United Kingdom (Silverstone)

August 1 – Hungary (Budapest)

August 29 – Belgium (Spa)

September 5 – Netherlands (Zandvoort)

September 12 – Italy (Monza)

September 26 – Russia (Sochi)

October 3 – Singapore (Singapore)

October 10 – Japan (Suzuka)

October 24 – USA (Austin)

October 31 – Mexico (Mexico City)

November 14 – Brazil (Sao Paulo)*

November 28 – Saudi Arabia (Jeddah)

December 5 – Abu Dhabi (Abu Dhabi)

*Subject to contract

Source: Read Full Article