Carson Palmer, Tony Romo, Bob Stoops lead College Football Hall of Fame class

Quarterbacks Carson Palmer and Tony Romo and Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops are among 13 people who will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

The 11 players and two coaches were announced Monday and will enter the Hall in December.

Palmer (Southern California) won the Heisman Trophy in 2002 after a 11-win season and ranks second in school history in career passing yards and total offense.

Romo (Eastern Illinois) won the Walter Payton Award that year as the top player in the Football Championship Subdivision when he had 34 touchdown passes.

Stoops won the 2000 national title after a 13-0 season and has a school-record 190 career victories in 18 years.

Southern California quarterback Carson Palmer holds up a jeweled shillelagh to celebrate a 44-13 win against Notre Dame in 2002. (Photo: LUCY NICHOLSON, AP)

Defensive end Andre Tippett, who starred at Iowa, will be inducted into his second Hall of Fame. He entered the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2008 after a 11-year career with the New England Patriots.

Also going in: Harris Barton, OT, North Carolina; David Fulcher, DB, Arizona State; Dan Morgan, LB, Miami (Fla.); Kenneth Sims, DT, Texas; C.J. Spiller, RB/KR, Clemson; Darren Sproles, RB, Kansas State; Aaron Taylor, OT, Notre Dame; Al Wilson, LB, Tennessee and Florida A&M coach Rudy Hubbard.

Morgan, Sims, Spiller, Taylor were unanimous first-team All-Americans, and Hubbard won back-to-back Black College Football National Championships in 1977 and 1978.

Source: Read Full Article