‘Their interpretation’: ICC breaks silence on World Cup clanger

The ICC have refused to be drawn into the furore surrounding the overthrows rule and whether England were incorrectly awarded an extra run in the World Cup final.

In a match shrouded in drama, England scored six from the third-last ball, when a throw from Martin Guptill rebounded off a diving Ben Stokes’ bat to the boundary.

It helped them tie the match, before a super over was also tied and England were handed the trophy over New Zealand on a boundary countback.

Stream over 50 sports live & anytime on your TV or favourite device with KAYO SPORTS. The biggest Aussie sports and the best from overseas. Just $25/month. No lock-in contract. Get your 14 day free trial >

Chaos leads to super over in World Cup final

World Cup: New Zealand and England have played out one of the craziest finishes to a cricket match you will ever see in the World Cup final.

The umpires awarded six as Stokes and Adil Rashid were returning for their second run when the overthrow was made.

However it has since emerged that under Law 19.8, extra runs are only awarded if the batsmen have crossed when the ball is thrown, which was not the case on Sunday.

It means that England should only have received five runs off the delivery, leaving them with four to win off two balls.

Crucially, it also would have seen No.10 Rashid on strike for the next ball, rather than the in-form Ben Stokes.

However when contacted by AAP on Monday, the ICC said they would not be drawn into the issue.

“The umpires take decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules and we don’t comment on any decisions as a matter of policy,” a spokesperson said.


EXCLUSIVE: ‘It’s a clear mistake’ — Cricket official confirms major World Cup gaffe

DID THE UMPIRES GET THIS WRONG? How obscure rule reveals World Cup nightmare

‘BAT OF GOD’: Unthinkable moment robs Kiwis, helps Poms to glory

LOOK: The photo that proves New Zealand was robbed in World Cup blunder

England win wildest WC Final!

Cricket: England win Cricket World Cup after super-over drama against New Zealand.

Play was stopped for more than a minute following the ball, as the umpires met mid-pitch.

Former five-time ICC umpire of the year and member of the MCC laws sub- committee, Simon Taufel has also since admitted the on-field officials got it wrong.

“It’s a clear mistake … it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel told Foxsports.com.au.

Meanwhile, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson deflected calls after the match for the overthrows rule to change.

While it is an unwritten rule in cricket to not run after a deflection from a runner, there is nothing in the laws to safeguard extra runs from being awarded when the ball goes to the boundary.

As such, umpires Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus had no choice but to signal the four.

“The rule has been there for a long time,” Williamson said.

“I don’t think anything like that’s happened (before) where you now question it. “There were so many other bits and pieces to that game that were so important.”

Originally published as‘Their interpretation’: ICC breaks silence on World Cup clanger

Source: Read Full Article